SG Titans

I’ve always wanted to dedicate a post to this club that I’ve been to, and so far it’s one of the best choices I’ve ever made in my life — SG Titans. As far as I can tell, there’re not many people that recognise Strongman as a standalone sport. People usually think that such a sport, with gym being the one thing in common, is the same. It’s not. Bodybuilding, Powerlifting, Strongman and Crossfit are distinctively different, like how there are many different kinds of noodle but they are all made with the same flour. But that’s not the point today.

Whenever I mention that my Co-Curricular Activity (CCA) is Strongman, people will go like, “Wow, Strongman.. so you gym eh bro?” I’m just so sick and of explaining what Strongman is all about. Strongman is not about building that perfect body like Bodybuilding and have the ladies go, “Ugh what a sexy muscular body I’d like to get my hands on, you must be so strong!” No, it’s more than that — it’s about gaining strength, both physically and mentally.

SG Titans is a club/ organisation that mainly taught Strongman and Powerlifting. Not that such sport is needed to be taught but it is done there. It is located at Woodlands Megacourt and training takes place every Thursday and Sunday, 7pm evening. The routine is always the same: taking out of equipment from a store, setting it up, warming up and then train. And at the end of the day (usually about 2230), we will bring all the things back into the store. And of course, all these will be supervised by one person, our well-respected coach, Ah Hui. He’s a harsh instructor and trainer; and personally, I have a lot to thank him for. And by the way, just so you know, he doesn’t gain a single cent out of coaching us. Without him, I’d probably not be as strong (mentally and physically). Without him, I’d probably still be a wimp. It’s precisely because of him that I went through many difficult yet purposeful, backbreaking training (literally). He was relentless and merciless; he wants to see blood on you before he halts YOUR training. When all we wanted was to take a break, rest and then continue, he’d fuck us all up with crude and harsh vulgarities 😦 When all we thought in our mind was, “I can’t do it,” he will slap us hard with his vulgarities yet again, and make us go all the way with what we started. It was tough, it was scary but, I’m glad I went through them. Still, ironically, safety was his number one priority. If we did anything that compromised safety, he’d fuck us up with his vulgarities, again.

“If you gonna do something, go all the way or don’t go at all.”

Going through all the training changed my thinking, my mindset. In the past, all I thought was, “Okay, I will do this because I’m able to.. and Nah, I don’t want to do that, because I’m not strong enough yet.” In other words, I will do something because I could already do it, and not do something because I can’t already do it. But now it’s different. All I’m able to think right now is that I can and will conquer all as long as I set my mind to it; I’m capable of anything and everything that I choose to do. You can see how the training I went through made me more positive and optimistic in life, and how it actually changed me.

I believe that anyone could be equally positive in life as well and that one could achieve anything as well, so long as they set their mind to it. Because when you actually set your mind to something that you really want, you’ll be so focused and do whatever it takes to achieve it. With that, I would like to end off by saying, “There is no growth in comfort, and there is no comfort in growth.” Continue giving your all to everything you do, and continue expanding your boundaries and with time, you can achieve anything you wish to achieve; because you can.

What we do: http://singaporesportsstories.blogspot.sg/2014/09/singapore-strongman-from-one-tyre-to.html

Leave a Reply

